Faculty

Name Position/title Research Email
Abdennour Abbas Assistant Professor Biosensors and bionanotechnology for food safety, environmental control, biodiagnostics, and biodefense aabbas@umn.edu
Lawrence Baker Research Professor Ecosystem analysis for pollution reduction and urban sustainability baker127@umn.edu
Brett Barney Associate Professor Bacteria and algae based biofuels, biofertilizers for aqua/agriculture bbarney@umn.edu
Mrinal Bhattacharya Professor Biodegradable polymers, tissue engineering, nanobiosensors bhatt002@umn.edu
Jonathan Chaplin Professor Machinery design for precision agriculture/farming, economic and safety benefits from agricultural robots jchaplin@umn.edu
John Chapman Assistant Professor Soil erosion prediction and control, storm water quality chapm155@umn.edu
Paul Chen Research Associate Professor Food engineering and safety, wastewater treatment chenx088@umn.edu
Chuck Clanton Professor Environmental management for livestock facilities and systems clant001@umn.edu
Omar Espinoza Assistant Professor Manufacturing/supply chain improvement, sustainable product management and marketing oaespino@umn.edu
Rob Gardner Assistant Professor Industrial applications for microbial processes (biorenewable energy, bioremediation) rdgardne@umn.edu
Jason Hill Associate Professor Life cycle analysis of food, energy, and agriculture hill0408@umn.edu
Bo Hu Associate Professor Process development for bioenergy, biomaterials, and bioproducts bhu@umn.edu
Peter Huajiang Huang Research Assistant Professor Biorefineries, product separation/purification, biomass huang159@umn.edu
Patrick Huelman Associate Extension Professor Residential building systems and technology, energy efficient design huelm001@umn.edu
Forrest Izuno Professor Value-added crops/cropping systems, social and economic improvements for rural areas izuno001@umn.edu
Kevin Janni Professor Air quality, ventilation, and mitigation for livestock facilities and systems kjanni@umn.edu
Dharma Kodali Research Professor Use of fats/oils for food and industrial applications  dkodali@umn.edu
Christian Lenhart Research Assistant Professor Ecological restoration, hydrology systems lenh0010@umn.edu
Joe Magner Research Professor Watershed management and policy, hydrologic pathways, pollutant management jmagner@umn.edu
Peter Marchetto Assistant Professor Sensors and sensing systems for environmental applications, outdoor robotics pmarchet@umn.edu
Beth Nelson Associate Professor and Director of Research and Education Programs SARE Local and sustainable food systems schre002@umn.edu
John Nieber Professor Hydrologic processes simulation and modeling, impact of land use activities on water quality nieber@umn.edu
Anu Ramaswami Professor Environmental modeling and technology, sustainable design for urban systems anu@umn.edu
Shri Ramaswamy Professor and Department Head Transport processes, products from second generation biomasses shri@umn.edu
Roger Ruan Professor Microalgae for food production and wastewater treatment ruanx001@umn.edu
Gary Sands Professor and Extension Engineer Water management and quality for agricultural systems grsands@umn.edu
Simo Sarkanen Professor Thermoplastics from lignin biosynthesis and biodegradation sarka001@umn.edu
Jonathan Schilling Associate Professor Fungi mechanisms used for commercial products and applications schillin@umn.edu
David Schmidt Research Engineer and Instructor Air and water quality of animal agriculture systems schmi071@umn.edu
Robert Seavey Teaching Assistant Professor Wood moisture relationships, energy performance of residential homes bseavey@umn.edu
Steve Severtson Professor Coatings and adhesives, polymer films sever018@umn.edu
Timothy Smith Professor Corporate sustainability, product stewardship, sustainable systems policy and market adoption timsmith@umn.edu
Ulrike Tschirner Professor Biomass used for fuels and products, pulping and bleaching, recycled fiber tschi007@umn.edu
William T.Y. Tze Associate Professor Nanocellulose/nanocomposites, adhesion of biobased materials wtze@umn.edu
Ping Wang Professor Nanobiotechnology, biocatalysts for biotransformation ping@umn.edu
Bruce Wilson Professor Water quality of agricultural watersheds, hydrologic modeling wilson@umn.edu
Ce Yang Assistant Professor Sensing systems and hyperspectral imaging for precision agriculture  ceyang@umn.edu