Department Faculty

Leadership

  • Ulrike Tschirner
    Director of the Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering undergraduate program
  • Brett Barney
    Director of the Bioproducts and Biosystems Science, Engineering and Management graduate program

Directory

Abdennour Abbas Assistant Professor Biosensors and bionanotechnology for food safety, environmental control, biodiagnostics, and biodefense aabbas@umn.edu
Lawrence Baker Research Professor Ecosystem analysis for pollution reduction and urban sustainability baker127@umn.edu
Brett Barney Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Bacteria and algae based biofuels, biofertilizers for aqua/agriculture bbarney@umn.edu
Mrinal Bhattacharya Professor Biodegradable polymers, tissue engineering, nanobiosensors bhatt002@umn.edu
Jonathan Chaplin Professor Machinery design for precision agriculture/farming, economic and safety benefits from agricultural robots jchaplin@umn.edu
John Chapman Assistant Professor Soil erosion prediction and control, storm water quality chapm155@umn.edu
Paul Chen Research Associate Professor Food engineering and safety, wastewater treatment chenx088@umn.edu
Chuck Clanton Professor Environmental management for livestock facilities and systems clant001@umn.edu
Erin Cortus Assistant Professor Sustainability and environmental stewardship in and around livestock facilities and systems ecortus@umn.edu
Omar Espinoza Associate Professor Manufacturing/supply chain improvement, sustainable product management and marketing oaespino@umn.edu
Rob Gardner Assistant Professor Industrial applications for microbial processes (biorenewable energy, bioremediation) rdgardne@umn.edu
Jason Hill Associate Professor Life cycle analysis of food, energy, and agriculture hill0408@umn.edu
Bo Hu Associate Professor Process development for bioenergy, biomaterials, and bioproducts bhu@umn.edu
Peter Huajiang Huang Research Assistant Professor Biorefineries, product separation/purification, biomass huang159@umn.edu
Patrick Huelman Associate Extension Professor Residential building systems and technology, energy efficient design huelm001@umn.edu
Natalie Hunt Teaching Assistant Professor Sustainability, ecosystem modeling, life cycle analysis hunt0416@umn.edu
Forrest Izuno Professor Value-added crops/cropping systems, social and economic improvements for rural areas izuno001@umn.edu
Kevin Janni Professor Air quality, ventilation, and mitigation for livestock facilities and systems kjanni@umn.edu
Zhenong Jin Assistant Professor Mapping agriculture features using high-resolution satellite imagery, forecasting crop yields, integrating crop models with remote sensing for precision nitrogen management, impacts of climate change on agroecosystem jinzn@umn.edu
Dharma Kodali Research Professor Use of fats/oils for food and industrial applications  dkodali@umn.edu
Christian Lenhart Research Assistant Professor Ecological restoration, hydrology systems lenh0010@umn.edu
Joe Magner Research Professor Watershed management and policy, hydrologic pathways, pollutant management jmagner@umn.edu
Peter Marchetto Assistant Professor Sensors and sensing systems for environmental applications, outdoor robotics pmarchet@umn.edu
Beth Nelson Associate Professor and Director of Research and Education Programs SARE Local and sustainable food systems schre002@umn.edu
John Nieber Professor Hydrologic processes simulation and modeling, impact of land use activities on water quality nieber@umn.edu
Anu Ramaswami Professor Environmental modeling and technology, sustainable design for urban systems anu@umn.edu
Shri Ramaswamy Professor Process and products engineering, transport processes, structure-property relationships, integrated biorefining  shri@umn.edu
Roger Ruan Professor Microalgae for food production and wastewater treatment ruanx001@umn.edu
Gary R. Sands Professor and Department Head Water management and quality for agricultural systems grsands@umn.edu
Simo Sarkanen Professor Thermoplastics from lignin biosynthesis and biodegradation sarka001@umn.edu
Steve Severtson Professor Coatings and adhesives, polymer films sever018@umn.edu
Vasudha Sharma Assistant Extension Professor Irrigation water management vasudha@umn.edu
Timothy Smith Professor Corporate sustainability, product stewardship, sustainable systems policy and market adoption timsmith@umn.edu
Ulrike Tschirner Professor Biomass used for fuels and products, pulping and bleaching, recycled fiber tschi007@umn.edu
William T.Y. Tze Associate Professor Nanocellulose/nanocomposites, adhesion of biobased materials wtze@umn.edu
Ping Wang Professor Nanobiotechnology, biocatalysts for biotransformation ping@umn.edu
Bruce Wilson Professor Water quality of agricultural watersheds, hydrologic modeling wilson@umn.edu
Ce Yang Assistant Professor Sensing systems and hyperspectral imaging for precision agriculture  ceyang@umn.edu