2016 Honors and Awards

June 2, 2016

The Department of Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering is pleased to announce faculty, staff and student award recipients for the 2015-2016 academic year.


BBE Professor of the Year (Student vote determined) Brett Barney
BBE Professor of the Year (Student vote determined)
Richard C. Newman Community Impact Award
Omar Espinoza
CFANS Innovations in Undergraduate Education Jason Hill
CFANS Distinguished Faculty Award Kevin Janni
Andrew Chase Award, AICHE Shri Ramaswamy
Richard C. Newman Art of Teaching Award Bob Seavey
UM President’s Community Engaged Scholar  Tim Smith
Charles E. Bowers Award for Undergraduate Education, CSE Bruce Wilson


BBE Outstanding Civil Service Award Matt Culbert
UM Communicators Forum Maroon Award, Writing – Newsletter Category Erin Omberg
BBE Outstanding Civil Service Award Susan Seltz


Dean E.M. Freeman Medal Neal Callinan
Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship, UMN Lori Krider
CFANS Student Board Awards
   Outstanding Organizational Programming
   Outstanding Organizational Partnership 
Sustainable Systems Management (SSM) Club

Seavey Espinoza Barney Awards

L: Bob Seavey and Omar Espinoza pictured with their Richard C. Newman awards
R: Brett Barney with his BBE Professor of the Year award